Why We Meditate… That Feeling

Tears of joy in my eyes as I remember why I can’t motivate myself to get on the spin bike anymore.  I used to run at one time and never could push myself to continue.  Years later I started on the spin bike and found my home.  I enjoyed it so much I almost became an instructor.  The reason I enjoyed it so much is I finally found the tool to push myself beyond my natural endurance level.

What I found while spinning is called Runner’s High.  It’s a point where you push and push your body when you feel like you have nothing left in you to continue.  What happens then?  When you continue beyond that point your higherself lets out a laugh and realizes you are putting your all into this and it takes over.  Suddenly the pain is gone, the mind chatter is gone, the whining is gone, it feels euphoric.  Few people ever experience it because most people give up long before it kicks in.  (I’m feeling it now as I write this)

Meditation unlocks that feeling without punishing your body.  Eventually it can be willed to happen.  You become familiar with what thoughts and feelings will invoke it in your normal waking moments.

Wishing you all a very joyous, healthy and safe 2015!

Posted on December 31, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Beautiful thoughts.. Wishing you also a wonderful and Happy New Year… May it bring all that you wish in abundance your way.. especially Health and Happiness..
    Blessings Sue

  2. A very long post today! Thanks for sharing, Dennis, and a lovely new year to you and your family!

  3. I love this! I used to do spin classes, 100 miles bike rides and was a gym rat. Now I can’t imagine. So this post really resonated with me. I had to PUSH, work the stress out to feel normal and good. Crazy! Now I find it in writing, nature, meditation and everyday life. Bliss! Big ❤ to you and thank you 🙂

  1. Pingback: Why We Meditate… That Feeling | dreamweaver333

Leave a Reply

